RSS

Leonard DiCaprio Writes?!

30 Nov
Leonardo DiCaprio at the Body of Lies film pre...

Image via Wikipedia

I recently saw the trailer for the new gothic version of the classic fairytale, Little Red Riding Hood.  Simply called Red Riding Hood, the biggest surprise about this film is where the idea originated.  As I’ve already given the answer away in the title of this blog post, I’ll just spit it out – Leonardo Dicaprio.

Catherine Hardwicke, the director of the popular (but in my opinion, much overrated) Twilight series was given the responsibility to turn DiCaprio‘s idea into a reality.  DiCaprio, according to Yahoo! Movies, thought it would be cool “to do a Gothic twist on Red Riding Hood, with the wolf being a werewolf, and just have a cool, sexy, romantic thriller.”  Apparently Hardwicke agreed.

The trailer, I will admit, is a little too Twilight-ey for me, but I believe that was the idea.  I’m not sure whether to look forward to this movie or run the other way with dread.  I am a fan of the Gothic Lolita ideals that have infiltrated our fairy tales (i.e. Alice in Wonderland). However, I am tired of the vampire infatuation running rampant through our society.  In all honesty, it disgusts me.

Anyway, run on over to YouTube or IMDb and check out the trailer.  It might be something you enjoy, it might not.  Like I said, it reminds me too much of Twilight so I won’t post it here.  There’s enough of that garbage floating around the Internet without my support.

– Paul Scott

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 30, 2010 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
