RSS

Hero to the Creative Mind, Issue 1: Gary Buslik

02 Nov

Today has been quite an inspirational day for one reason or another and I wanted to share an article I read back in May of this year that inspired me to follow my childhood dreams and passion…damn the price!

The article talks about Gary Buslik, a passionate and creative man, who graduated from college with an English degree, though he’d been telling his parents he was pursuing a degree in law.  According to http://www.arottenperson.com, “his mother cried for weeks and his father strode around the house ranting, ‘Big man!  He knows the parts of speech!'”

He later began an alarm company in Chicago that excelled so high as to make him around half a million dollars a year.  It sounds like the success story that we all dram of…but Gary hadn’t reached his success yet.  Gary decided that he wasn’t happy with that life and sold his business to return to school.  He attended the University of Illinois where he graduated with a Ph.D. in English.

Gary now works at the University of Illinois in Chicago as a professor and writes books on the side making a simple $13,500 a year.  Now that is true success!  Money isn’t everything and sometimes we get caught up in “keeping up with the Joneses” and forget what our dreams and passions are.

Read the full article on CNN MoneyDitching a $500,000 Salary to Teach Lit

I thank God that there are men as brave and courageous as Gary Buslik who chose to do what he loved instead of making a fortune, which he was obviously very capable of making.  Thank you, Gary Buslik.  You have inspired me to follow my dreams to the end – wherever that may be!

– Paul Scott

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2010 in Inspirational

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Hero to the Creative Mind, Issue 1: Gary Buslik

  1. Gary Buslik

    August 25, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Thanks, Paul. You made my day. Good luck with your writing. Looks like you’re doing fine. — Gary

     
  2. Harmony

    September 6, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Sorry to keep commenting, but…. I can’t stop. I have always been so happy that I got to be a woman and not a man, because I would hate to have to go to work every. single. day. of. my. life. BUT, I do think it makes a huge difference if you’re doing something you love. There is no point in making a ton of money if there’s no joy in it. It’s much better, in my opinion, to be happy and poor.

     

Leave a Reply

 
