RSS

“What are Your Biggest Weaknesses?”

25 Apr
Interview

Image by alancleaver_2000 via Flickr

I’m not really sure why I’ve decided to post this after all this time but I want to talk about one of my biggest pet peevesemployers asking their potential employees questions like “What is your biggest weakness?”

Do employers truly believe that people will be honest when they answer this question?

“My biggest weakness?  Hmmm.  Every now and again I steal office supplies.”

or…

“Well, I tend to call in sick a lot just because I don’t feel like coming in to work.”

Apparently, there are correct answers to such a stupid question:

You have to take a step back, look at your strengths and turn them into a potential strength.

“I’m a hard worker.  I work so hard that I sometimes can’t say no to additional projects.”

Employers, do not ask your potential employees what their weaknesses are.  They will not tell you the truth.  They will lie.  You will either receive a bogus answer like the one just above or they will tell you that they do not believe they have any.  Save yourself the humiliation of being lied to and just ask questions that they can answer honestly.

Keep on going.

- Paul Scott

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to ““What are Your Biggest Weaknesses?”

  1. Harmony

    April 26, 2011 at 7:56 am

    I agree! What a stupid question.. but it ALWAYS get asked. Every interview it gets asked. Once I had the question”If you could be any kind of dog, what would it be?” I replied”the kind of dog that stays in the house and eats people food.”

    I got the job. Ha! Good pet peeve. You’re not the only one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

