RSS

Gazing…at the Stars

13 Dec
Pleiades Star Cluster

Image via Wikipedia

So today just became my official “I’ve lost it” day.  I have written 5 poems for absolutely no reason.  I just don’t write poems.  I haven’t since high school so it’s kind of weird.  Anyway, I thought I’d share my favorite with you:

Gazing

When I was one, I had no purpose
Nor did I know or care
When I was three, no purpose still
But no worse did I fare

When I was six, nothing had changed
I still was not depressed
When I was ten, I still had none
And that suited me best

At fifteen, my life had no point
Cursed was my fate
At twenty-one, I knew no purpose
I decided I must wait

At twenty-eight, still nothing came
I began to feel alone
At thirty-six, life was purposeless
Sorrow became my home

At forty-five, my pointless life
Was forcing me to see
At fifty-five, I had no purpose
It was not meant to be

At sixty-six, still nothing there
And it began to show
At seventy-eight, I gave up hope
I had nowhere to go

At ninety-one, I lay on my deathbed
That’s when I understood
My purpose passed me as I waited
In my life, I’d done no good

At fifteen, had I been any wiser
I’d have done well in school
At twenty-one, I’d have fallen in love
If I’d not been such a fool

At twenty-eight, I’d have my children
Had I not waited so long
At thirty-six, I’d be the best dad
If I’d not have been so wrong

At forty-five, my kids would all be grown
And that’s when I would see
At fifty-five, they’d have their own lives
My purpose would be my legacy

At sixty-six, my whole life would change
Kids would have kids of their own
At seventy-eight, my wife and I
Could have settled down at home

And at ninety-one, I’d not be alone
As I lay there near-dead
I could have had them all around
Standing by my bed

So my last dying words, you see
I’ll tell you what they are
There is no purpose you will reach
Just GAZING at the stars

- Paul Scott

P.S. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2010 in Original Works

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Gazing…at the Stars

  1. Aileen Swallow

    December 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Paul, that is awesome!! Very well written and I loved how true that is in life. If we don’t see now it’s too late later. I definitely enjoyed it.

     
  2. Harmony

    December 14, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    that was a great poem! I loved how it all came around full circle. Really good. I mean it.

     
  3. Paul Scott

    December 16, 2010 at 1:01 am

    Thank you both for your kindness.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

